AI liability insurance in the US: who covers it, who excludes it, and how to get coverage-ready.
A source-verified buyer's guide for business decision-makers. No carrier can pay to rank higher or change a single fact. I fact-check every claim and personally vet every feature. Every factual cell carries a source URL and a last-verified date.
Author & researcher
Joel R. Singh
Rankings & facts
Not for sale
Inside the guide
Featured Providers
Paid · disclosed · vetted, never ranked
One premium placement and three featured categories. Same vetting for both; only position and distribution differ.
Premium Provider · Standalone AI liability
Premium placement is open
First position, one provider, personally vetted. Paid, disclosed, and it never affects rankings.
Endorsements & add-ons
This category is open
One exclusive provider per category. Paid, disclosed, and it never affects rankings.
Risk-governance & readiness software
This category is open
One exclusive provider per category. Paid, disclosed, and it never affects rankings.
Specialist brokers & MGAs
This category is open
One exclusive provider per category. Paid, disclosed, and it never affects rankings.
FREE CHECKLIST · BUYER'S BRIEF
Get the AI Exclusion Checklist
12 policy-wording questions to ask before you renew, free with the monthly Buyer's Brief. No spam, one email a month, unsubscribe any time.
Every issue is source-linked and dated.
Live carrier coverage monitor
Last full verification 2026-09-01 · how we verify
Coverage landscape · As of 2026-09-01
AI liability products tracked
Named-AI or AI-endorsed policies from admitted and E&S carriers, individually verified.
AI exclusion filings, plain-English
ISO and manuscript exclusions filed with state DOIs, summarized without the jargon.
Companies to Watch
Editorial · never paidEmerging AI liability players we track editorially. Inclusion means we find them notable, never a paid placement and never a buy recommendation. Independent of the comparison table and rankings.
See the watchlist2026 Market Shift
What changed in 2026
On January 1, 2026, two new Verisk/ISO endorsements took effect. If your business uses generative AI in marketing, operations, or products, your general liability renewal may now carry an exclusion for exactly that activity.
At the same time, a small but real standalone market has emerged. Only a handful of true standalone AI liability products exist worldwide as of mid-2026, all surplus lines, Lloyd's or Munich Re backed. Everything else is an endorsement on cyber or tech E&O policies.
This guide tracks both sides: the products you can buy, and the exclusions arriving on your renewal.
The exclusion wave
The wave goes beyond the standard ISO forms. WR Berkley has introduced an absolute AI exclusion on D&O, E&O, and fiduciary lines covering "any actual or alleged use, deployment, or development of Artificial Intelligence". Our AI Exclusion Tracker follows each filing with source links and plain-English explanations.
The governance connection
Underwriters increasingly condition coverage and pricing on your AI governance posture: model inventories, documented human oversight, bias testing records, and incident response plans.
Organizations that can produce this documentation receive coverage on workable terms. Those that cannot face exclusions, sublimits, or premium increases. Our coverage-readiness checklist walks through the documentation set underwriters ask for.
-
2023–2024
Carrier manuscript endorsements emerge
Select E&S carriers begin attaching ad-hoc AI exclusions to Tech E&O and GL renewals. No standardized form; language varies by carrier and broker.
-
January 1, 2026 · In Effect
Standard exclusions become effective
The ISO forms take effect. Standard GL and umbrella policies that adopt these endorsements now exclude AI-related bodily injury and property damage claims by default.
-
Now · Ongoing
Carrier adoption is the variable
Carriers are choosing whether to file the ISO forms in each state, use proprietary equivalents, or offer AI buy-back endorsements. Coverage gaps depend on your carrier, state, and renewal date.
Check carrier adoption table →
How this guide works
- Per-cell sourcing. Every factual claim in our datasets links to its source and carries a last-verified date. Where a carrier has not disclosed a detail, we say "Not disclosed / verify with carrier" instead of guessing.
- Visible changelogs. The comparison table and exclusion tracker each publish a changelog. Capacity figures in this market changed three times in six weeks; freshness is the whole point.
- Quarterly re-verification. Every cell is re-checked against its source at least quarterly, with ad hoc updates on launches and filings. See the editorial policy.
- Independent research. No carrier can pay to rank higher or change a single fact. The site carries clearly disclosed Featured Provider placements; featured providers have no say over research or rankings. See the full funding disclosure.